survival mode

It was a challenge to come up with something to write about this week. I’ve gone a bit into survival mode while I tackle the final major round of edits on my third novel and a lot of activity is culminating at my day job, too.

That means there hasn’t been any exercising, and I’ve been eating whatever I want (though I am trying to watch my portions). I organized my desk on Friday night, but otherwise I’ve run the dishwasher once a week, vacuumed every other week, and dusted surfaces whenever necessary. My to-do before thirty list is still looking pretty long.

This happens. Sometimes, despite the best of our intentions, we end up sliding back. What matters most, I’ve come to realize, is how we deal with it when this happens. You can give up, you can get angry, or you can cut yourself some slack and acknowledge you’re human while trying to come up with a new approach to achieve your goals.

I’m trying to go with option three.

So, short post today, but hopefully within the next couple of weeks I’ll be better able to focus on self improvement and have lots of updates to share. Until then, cheers.

Leave a comment