back in time

I really don’t know where the month of August went. It seems crazy to me that it’s September already, and even more crazy that I didn’t add anything to my book the entire month. (OK, so maybe 1,000 words total, but that doesn’t seem to be too much compared to where I was during the month of July.)

It’s definitely obvious to me that I have been experiencing writer’s block in addition to battling the everyday chaos that comes with all of the hats I wear. (Note: for some reason the “wearing hats” expression really makes me giggle. I have no idea why. I just really like it.) So my main goal for this month is to work past that.

I’m doing that a few different ways. The first is to do some research on a topic that is the main focus of the second part of my story. I think that part of my difficulties in writing lie in that I wasn’t alive during the time period I’m writing in, and so I need to try and get myself into that world so I can better get in my writing mindset. I literally requested 10 books to start my research, and I’m looking forward to it. It’s kind of crazy to think how long it’s been since I’ve done actual research from books with handwritten notes, but I think I will enjoy it. At the very least, I hope it will give me the context I need to keep writing.

I also painted my office and cleaned off my desk. I hope that having a dedicated space away from distractions will help me focus better at home and get some words down. I also hope to include a day a week at the very least that I use to just focus on my writing while Broderick is in daycare. Hopefully planning ahead and breaking that time out will help with that.

Part of my make it work goal would also be to get in a routine to allow for that, so that I am not feeling constantly behind with so many other things that need to get done. Instead, I want to make writing a priority.

Hopefully by putting some of these plans in place I’ll be able to get back into the habits I set back in July. I know it’s a process, but I think it’s a priority for me to get back to my writing routine.

Leave a Reply

