our new normal

In the past, I was never the kind of person who did well with change. It’s chaotic, which went against my crazy type-A personality. Now, change still feels chaotic, but I’m more used to it, because it happens more frequently.

Obviously, one of my biggest changes over the past few years has been Broderick, and obviously (at least to everyone else) this snowballed many other changes, including a move, a job change, and three daycare changes, among others. When I set my goal to figure out my life, I did that during a time that was most chaotic for us. On top of the move, I had just transitioned out of a job I loved into a job that I knew I would still love with the same organization but with fewer hours than before. I needed to figure out what I wanted our day to day life to look like.

Well, here we are a few months later, and while I’m not saying nothing will change ever again, we have settled into a weekly routine-ish. And it feels a little less chaotic. Broderick goes to daycare three days a week in the morning, and then he is home with me Mondays and Fridays and afternoons. This gives me time to work on the house (YOU’RE GOING DOWN WALLPAPER), write my book (eventually) and work on my projects for my day job, as well as any other new opportunities that come up.

So, for the time being, I’m going to cross Goal No. 1 off the list and say that life is (somewhat) figured out. And I finally picked a paint color. It’s called “Predictable.” Not kidding.

One thought on “our new normal

Leave a Reply

